Small in the Garden

Last week, I took my camera and the “Small” theme out into my Spring garden.

Some plants (or groupings of plants) make me think of miniature fantasy worlds and I love that. This is moss growing on an old driftwood log in the garden. In the alternate world of my imagination, it is a magical forest.

Here is a close-up of tiny succulents, a different kind of forest.

Some blossoms are really a collection of smaller flowers, like this heather. I love the intricate perfection of it!

Another is daphne odora. Aptly named, it can be smelled from 10′ away. This one I have nicknamed  “Johnny” after the cat for (and over) whom it was planted. I always thank him when it is in bloom.

It’s fun to get right down at ground level for a different view of  lower-growing gardens, like pansies. Water droplets are a bonus.

Pansies are special to me because they remind me of my grandmother, who loved them.

~ by judytherainbow on April 28, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
