Small Things Growing

This month’s Creative Every Day Challenge theme is “Small”.  As I thought about it, I realized that much of my photography is of small things –  or small details of larger things – because I love taking macro shots in my garden.

The other day, I spent several hours with small plants as I transplanted my tomato seedlings. Small things that will become big in a few months in order to produce small fruit, ranging from plum to currant-sized.

While puttering in my “nursery” I came across this oddly small begonia seedling. What is strange about it is that I planted it 18 months ago from seed. All of its siblings grew up enough to go into the garden and flower last year while this little runt has remained small. I almost wonder if it is some kind of mutation.

This is a 2″ pot.

I love the little tiny hairs on the miniscule leaves.

~ by judytherainbow on April 5, 2011.

Leave a comment